This week I’ll be researching about what editors are the best to use in the media industry, and my experience in my opinion of what editor I think is the best software to use.

What am I going to research?

I am going to research about what editor is the best to use when filmmaking within the media industry and the editors I’ll be researching and comparing are Final Cut Pro X and Avid.

Questions to help my write up:

What editor is used in films?

How can you use it?

What is the layout like for both editors?

What is the best software to use?

What editors do media people recommend?

My research:

Primary

For my primary research I’m going to test both editors out. I’m also going to compare these two editors in my perspective, and experience from using them both.

Secondary 

For my secondary research, I’m going to research about what editors are easier for filmmakers and people within the media industry. I’m also going to find out why that editor is better and what people think about both of them.

Another thing I’m going to do for my secondary research is look up reviews about both editors and if some famous editors have used them.

Avid

Avid is an editor that has been used through-out Hollywood, and professional editors within the media have used this for big TV shows such as “Masterchef” and “Catfish” which are both massive TV programmes. Austin Flack has been a fan of editing with Final Cut Pro and Adobe since he was in college, but then when he moved to bigger jobs in the industry they told him to use Avid. Avid is an editor that is based on a complicated layout of video editing, and you have to buy extra add ons for more effects which cost a lot more than the price of the editor. However Avid is still the top editor, that most big editors making huge successful films are using.

Final Cut Pro X

Final Cut Pro X is an Apple based editor that has also been used in major Hollywood feature films such as The Hunger Games which was edited on Final Cut Pro X with tons of other people editing with them as well on their computers too. FCPX has the design like you would see in Adobe, and has almost the same effects, however Final Cut does come second within the best editors. With FCP it’s a lot easier for the editor, or the client being able to produce a short or a big feature film with the layout, and it also makes it easier for editors sharing the software because all of the information is in one editor, and you can allow it to be shared.

Comparing both

In comparison, Avid is the biggest editor that is still used now for big Hollywood films. However, both of the editors have different layouts as well as how fast it can be while the editor is putting pieces together. Avid is a suggested editor that has been used plenty of times, but has a slower rate speed of how you want to edit. Final Cut Pro X that is similar to APP runs at the same speed, but can crash like Avid and APP.

Avid is a bit more complicated compared to the other editors, and can be a bit hard to use since from my experience using Avid it’s not very reliable and can crash within seconds and takes a huge amount of time to get everything rendered and in different settings. Another thing that is a bit difficult with Avid is that sometimes once it’s crashed, it won’t work on the account that you are using to edit media files with, and that can become very frustrating for the person trying to put media sources together.

For big feature films, both of the editors are equally the same but going onto budget like Neil Smith said in his talk about why they used FCPX to edit The Hunger Games. Budget is tough while making a $100 million feature film. That’s why they went towards using a bunch of editors and one main editor using final cut pro x. FCPX isn’t that hard to get if you are making a big feature film and it only costs $299 dollars to get. He mentioned that all the editors were working on their Macbook’s and having different people work on their 20 inch Mac desktops which made it easier. In my opinion, I agree that it’s so much easier than using an old editor that has been successful in Hollywood because more money will be used in the editing if they were using Avid for e.g adding extra add ons.

Films that have used Avid Media Composer:

As I’ve said before, Avid is the top leader of all of the editors because it has been truly successful across making big feature films that have made it in Hollywood. The reason why Avid is the leader of all editors is because although it has an old complicated layout, it has all the things an editor is looking for while creating a big Hollywood movie because it can be shared across everyone in that production.

Films that have used Final Cut Pro X:

Films that have used final cut pro x are The Hunger Games (2012), The Social Network (2010), Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2011), 500 Days Of Summer (2012)  and tons of other big films such as X Men (2009) but the list goes on for a long time. The reason why fcpx is used is because you can make huge films on a low budget editor compared to Avid and maybe a couple of other editing software. Most editors prefer to use Final Cut Pro X is because of how it can help with the budget, and having editors on the side to use.

My review on FCPX VS Avid

In my opinion, I definitely prefer editing on FCPX or Adobe Premiere Pro which I don’t own sadly but I do own and use Final Cut. My experience with Avid hasn’t been very reliable although it didn’t take me long to get used to editing with Avid. Avid is hugely complicated layout wise, as well as the extra keyboard shortcuts which take a lot of time out of the editing time which I’m not particularly keen on. Since I prefer working on a fast speed while editing, I wasn’t a big fan on Avid not being able to work anymore in college.

I definitely prefer other editors because they already provide the format, and fps which makes it easier for the editor, and doesn’t take time out of the editing process. Avid is a good editor, but I’m not keen on the complicatedness within the software and you can definitely find the same tools in other editors. However, I know that Avid has been used in massive Hollywood films which makes me like it but it’s not one of my favourite editors that I’ve recently learnt how to get a hang of it. I could easily adjust myself to working with it, but sadly it’s not on my top list.

Bibliography:

References:

Film Ora (2016) http://filmora.wondershare.com/final-cut-pro/movies-made-by-fcp.html (Accessed on 14 Nov 16)

Top Ten Reviews http://www.toptenreviews.com/software/multimedia/best-professional-video-editing-software/media-composer-review/ (Accessed on 14th Nov 2016)

Tom’s Hardware (2015) http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/professional-video-editing-software-guide,4004-2.html

Digital Films (2014) https://digitalfilms.wordpress.com/2014/02/07/comparing-final-cut-pro-x-media-composer-and-premiere-pro-cc/ (Accessed on 14/11/16)

Alex 4d (no date) http://alex4d.com/notes/item/why-avid-is-no-1-in-hollywood

No Film School (2014) http://nofilmschool.com/2014/01/hollywood-feature-film-edit-apple-final-cut-pro-x

Film School Online (no date) http://filmschoolonline.com/sample_lessons/sample_lesson_popular_NLE_systems.htm

FCP (no date) http://www.fcp.co/final-cut-pro/news/1326-100-million-dollar-hollywood-movie-being-cut-on-final-cut-pro-x-and-imacs

